

SOLID WASTE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Thursday, June 23, 2021 10:00 AM

Central Texas Council of Governments (CTCOG) 2180 North Main Street Belton, TX 76513

Solid Waste Advisory Committee Voting Members Present

Chair Zoe Rascoe – Citizen Representative Vice Chair Bill Parry – City of Gatesville Justin Brantley – City of Temple Marcie Seele – City of Belton Noel Watson – City of Copperas Cove Second Vice Chair Duane Herrera – Bell County Commissioner Henry Hubnik – Milam County Commissioner Johnny Wagner – Hamilton County Scott Edmonson – San Saba County Paul Daugereau – Industry Representative

Additional Attendees

David Williams – City of Kempner Kara Escajeda – City of Nolanville Timi Dutchuk – Fort Hood Richard Layne – Hamilton County Uryan Nelson – CTCOG PRS Director Kendra Coufal – CTCOG James McGill – CTCOG

1. Call to Order: Zoe Rascoe called the meeting to order at 10:03 am.

2. Public Comments: No comments were made by the public.

3. Staff Update: RSWMP Update; Federal and State Updates; Air Quality.

James McGill stated that the RSWMP was on track for a November 20 submittal to TCEQ and that Mike Carleton with AZ&B would provide further updates on the status of the plan update during his presentation. Mr. McGill informed the group of two articles included in the packet for further reading and that the draft HHW events application is also included for any final comments before it is released on July 1. Air Quality for the month of May was 59 ppb at the Temple station and 65 ppb at the Killeen station.

4. Action Item: Approval of the May 13, 2021 meeting minutes.

Bill Parry made a motion to approve the May 13, 2021 meeting minutes, seconded by Justin Brantley; the motion passed unanimously.

5. Discussion Item: Regarding FY21 HHW events; Killeen Event Summary.

James McGill informed the SWAC that the next HHW event is scheduled for October in Temple. Mr. McGill stated that the May Killeen HHW event and June Milam County Tire Event were both a success. Mr. McGill shared data on where attendees were from, items brought, and previous attendance gathered from surveys taken at the event. Commissioner Hubnik of Milam County shared that over 10,000 tires were brought to their event.

6. Discussion Item: Officer Nominations for FY22-23.

Zoe Rascoe informed the group that officer elections for the next biennium (FY22-23) are coming up at the August SWAC meeting. David Williams asked how you become a voting member. Ms. Rascoe and Bill Parry explained the requirements for voting member and how to become an ex-officio member. James McGill requested that anyone who is interested email James or Zoe so that staff can inform the group who the nominees are prior to the August meeting. Mr. Parry confirmed that the term is for FY22 and FY23.

7. Discussion Item: AZ&B Presentation on the RSWMP Update

Zoe Rascoe introduced Michael Carleton with Arredondo, Zepeda & Brunz (AZ&B) who is assisting CTCOG with the update of the Regional Solid Waste Management Plan (RSWMP). Ms. Rascoe and Bill Parry provided some context for the history of the plan and that this update is required by the State. Mr. Carleton gave a presentation on past and forecasted data for the CTCOG region and some numbers from the regional survey collection effort. The floor opened for discussion on solid waste needs and goals in the region.

SWAC members shared what the biggest concerns in their community or area are. Reoccurring topics were disposal of used tires, illegal dumping, increasing recycling through education, finding new recycling markets, and how to reduce waste going into the landfill.

8. Discussion and Action Item: Regarding allocation of FY21 Earned Interest and remaining implementation funds.

Zoe Rascoe recapped that CTCOG has unused FY21 Implementation funds and Earned Interest that need to be allocated prior to the end of the fiscal year. Ms. Rascoe stated that the Earned Interest can be moved into the next biennium, but the Implementation funds must be used in this fiscal year. Ms. Rascoe shared some options and ideas for how the funds could be used.

Justin Brantley requested the funds for the October HHW event in Temple. Kara Escajeda suggested using the funds to dispose of tires collected by the cities in events. Bill Parry asked if this item could be tabled until the August meeting. James McGill stated that CTCOG needed an answer now for how the funds will be used. Ms. Escajeda asked if funds could be used for public awareness. Mr. McGill said he did not think so.

Bill Parry made a motion to move the \$2,994.65 in Earned Interest funds over to FY22 and allocated the \$8,492.60 in unexpended implementation funds to dispose of extra tires collected at recent HHW events, seconded by Noel Watson; the motion passed unanimously.

9. Discussion and Action Item: Regarding SWAC Bylaws Revisions.

Zoe Rascoe stated that CTCOG is working to align the bylaws of all their different committees. James McGill explained which proposed revisions are language directly from the official CTCOG Executive Committee bylaws and which proposed revisions are staff recommended language.

Member suggested adding "without notice or proxy attendance" to the proposed revision regarding the attendance requirement. All other revisions are accepted without comment.

Johnny Wagner made a motion to approve the proposed SWAC Bylaws revisions with additional comments, seconded by Marcie Seele; the motion passed unanimously.

10. Member Comments:

James McGill and Kendra Coufal shared that CTCOG is moving back towards working in the office and that meetings over the summer could start returning to being in-person and/or have a hybrid format.

11. Next Meeting: August 19, 2021

12. Adjourn: Meeting was adjourned at 12:14 p.m.

These meeting minutes were approved by the SWAC members at their meeting on August 19, 2021

zpekascoe

Zoe Rascoe, SWAC Chair

DocuSigned by: - M. M B41517A2E8B4A9...

Uryan Nelson, CTCOG PRS Director