

# **Executive Committee Meeting**

2180 North Main Street Belton, Texas

March 28, 2024 Hybrid Meeting: 12:00 PM

# **MEETING MINUTES:**

CTCOG Bylaws, Article 7:8 -

"A majority of the total number of the members of the Executive Committee shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of all business with the exception of Project Review matters. In the event there is less than a quorum (51%) present at an Executive Committee Meeting, the Members present may act as final review authority on behalf of the Executive Committee if all decisions are unanimous. In the event that the decisions are not unanimous, the Members cannot act on behalf of the Executive committee and the business pending must be considered at either a called meeting or at the next regular Executive Committee meeting."

On March 28, 2024, a quorum was not present. Following Article 7, Section 8 of the CTCOG bylaws, agenda items were reviewed and voted on to be ratified at the next meeting, which will be held on April 25, 2024.

## **Executive Committee Officers in Attendance:**

President	Judge Roger Miller	Coryell County	
Secretary/Treasurer	Ryan Haverlah	City of Copperas Cove	
Executive Committee Members in Attendance:			
Riakos Adams, City of Killeen	Fred Chavez, City of Copperas Cove	Stephanie O'Banion, City of Belton	
Lloyd Huggins, Hamilton County	Mayor Bill Harris, Milam County	Michele Carter, CTC	

## **CTCOG Staff Members and Guests in Attendance:**

Jim Reed, CTCOG	Uryan Nelson, CTCOG	George Losoya, CTCOG
Sue Jordan, CTCOG	Jeannie Horne, CTCOG	Jessee Hennage CTCOG

Becky Cooley, CTCOG Louis LeDoux, WFSCT Helen Hill-Yancey, CTCOG Bill Schumann, Bell County Susan Kamas, WFB Ricky Tow, City of Cameron

# **Oath of Office**

No Oath of Office was administered.

# Public Comment

There was no Public Comment.

## **Consent Agenda**

A motion was made by Riakos Adams, City of Kileen Councilmember, to accept the Consent Agenda, which included the January 2024 Expenditure Report and the January 2024 Meeting Minutes. Mayor Bill Harris, Milam County, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

## Action Items

A motion was made by Stephanie O'Banion, City of Belton Councilmember, to approve Resolution 03-24-WFB001 which sought support for the Career Outreach Program Dunsing to include a Statewide Career Readiness Program. Llyod Huggins, Commissioner, Hamilton County, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

A motion was made by Mayor Bill Harris, Milam County, to approve Action Item 03-24-ADMIN001 to accept the 2023 CTCOG Annual Financial Audit Report. After further explanation on the report and its clean findings by a Pattillo, Brown, and Hill LLP representative Riakos Adams, City of Kileen Councilmember, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

A motion was made by Llyod Huggins, Commissioner, Hamilton County, to approve Resolution 03-24-PRS001 approving the Statewide Emergency Radio Infrastructure (SERI) Grant Projects. Fred Chavez, City of Copperas Cove Councilmember, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed. A motion was made by Riakos Adams, City of Kileen Councilmember, to approve Proclamations 03-24-PRS002-006. Stephanie O'Banion, City of Belton Councilmember second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

A motion was made by Mayor Bill Harris, Milam County, to approve Resolution 03-24-PRS007 approving the FY2025 Regional Homeland Security Grant Funds. Llyod Huggins, Commissioner, Hamilton County, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

## **Reports**

<u>Area Agency on Aging:</u> George Losoya, Director of AAA/ADVRC briefed the committee on the current state of the program, and upcoming events in the region.

**Housing**: Carmen Lim, Director of HAP, briefly explained the progress and issues of the CTCOG Housing Assistance Programs efforts in taking over the Killeen Housing Authority clientele, making landlord ledgers complete, and processing both CTCOG Housing applicant files and KHA client files to ensure all are in compliance with the program.

**Planning and Regional Services:** Uryan Nelson, Director of PRS, briefed the committee on the current performance of both the Regional Planning and Emergency Planning Services departments as well as sharing the most current updates on the Safe Streets for All (SS4A) project.

<u>Workforce Development Board</u>: Susan Kamas, Executive Director of WFBCT, advised the committee of current policy issues that were being considered and remedied by the Workforce Board, in addition to the resolution presented at the COmmittee.

<u>Workforce Solutions Central Texas:</u> Louis LeDoux, Chief Operating Officer of WFSCT, Louis LeDoux, Chief Operating Officer of WFSCT, briefed the committee on the standing of Texas UI claims for the region as well as the unemployment rates for the region as of 03/22/2024. The total UI claims filed for the week ending 03/22/2024 reached 14,517 and the unemployment rate rests at 4.8%.

**Executive Directors Report:** Mr. Jim Reed, AICP, Executive Director CTCOG, advised the committee that the next meeting will take place on Thursday April 25, 2024.

# <u>Adjourn</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 01:43 PM by The Honorable Roger Miller, Coryell County Judge, President.

The Honorable Judge Roger Miller, President

The Honorable Ryan Haverlah, Secretary/Treasurer