

# **Executive Committee Meeting**

2180 North Main Street Belton, Texas June 15, 2023

# Hybrid Meeting: 12:00 PM

# **MEETING MINUTES:**

The April 2023 Central Texas Council of Governments Annual Executive Committee Meeting was called to order by The Honorable Randy Hoyer, President at 12:19pm.

### **Executive Committee Officers in Attendance:**

President	Judge Randy Hoyer	Lampasas County
1 <sup>st</sup> Vice President	Judge Roger Miller	Coryell County
2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice President	Councilmember Jose Segarra	City of Killeen
Parliamentarian	Mr. Ryan Haverlah	City of Copperas Cove
Immediate Past President	Judge David Blackburn	Bell County

# **Executive Committee Members in Attendance:**

Councilmember Ramon Alverez, City of Killeen	Mayor Gary Chumley, City of Gatesville	Commissioner Dickie Clary, Hamilton County
Mayor Tim Davis, City of Temple	Commissioner Llyod Huggins, Hamilton County	Councilmember Stephanie O'Banion, City of Belton
Commissioner Bobby Whitson, Bell County Greg McGregor, San Saba County	Mayor Debbie Nash King, City of Killeen	Judge Jett Johnson, Mills County

# **CTCOG Staff Members and Guests in Attendance:**

Jim Reed, CTCOG		
Uryan Nelson, CTCOG		
Hope Davis, KTMPO		
Jwana Sartor, CTCOG		

Michael Irvine, CTCOG Jesse Hennage, CTCOG Anna Barge, CTCOG Jeannie Horne, CTCOG George Losoya, CTCOG Connie Quinto, CTCOG Becky Cooley, CTCOG Diana Rodriguez, CTCOG

Raquel Canava, CTCOG	Louis LeDoux, WFSCT	Susan Kamas, WFBCT
Ricky Tow, City of Cameron	Brandon Simon, U.S. Senator Ted Cruz	Bill Schumann, Bell County
Caitlyn Emmanuel, WFSCT	Becky Sims, City of Lampasas	Risha Sexton, Community Member
Regina Baker, San Saba County	Jared Porrit, WFSCT	Linda Angel, WFBCT
Chamber		
Kayla Schraub, Hamilton Main	Amy Merriman, Texcell CU	Sandra Wooten, Granny Kay's Baked
Street		Goods
Jeff Harris, Joe Bland Construction	Bobby Ehrig, Citizens for Progress	Dominic Elizondo, CTCOG
Tih Lucas, City of Temple	Carmen Sanchez, City of Belton	

The prayer was led by Jim Reed, AICP, CTCOG Executive Director CTCOG.

The pledges to the American and Texas flags were led by Mrs. Stephanie O'Banion, Councilmember, City of Belton.

# Oath of Office

The oath of office was administered to Mr. Ramon Alverez, Councilmember, City of Killeen, allowing him to take the seat of the City of Killeen Alternate Representative.

### Public Comment

There was no Public Comment.

### Consent Agenda

Agenda, which included the April 2023 Expenditure Report and the April 2023 Meeting Minutes. Mayor Debbie Nash-King, City of Killeen, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

### **Discussion Items**

**<u>06-23-PRS01</u>**: Due to the sensitive nature of the accusations surrounding the scoring of the CTCOG Criminal Justice Advisory Committee (CJAC) funds by members, the CTCOG Executive Committee requested additional information, including the scoring of funds and a list of membership. The committee members discussed topics relating to the CJAC scoring and memberships and had several inquiries which Mr. Jesse Hennage, EMPSA, Assistant Director of Planning/Public Safety CTCOG, provided clarification. No action was taken at this time.

#### Action Items

A motion was made by Commissioner Llyod Huggins, Hamilton County, to accept all Action Items, which included Proclamation 06-23-PRS02 Declaring July 2023 as Parks and Recreation Month in the Central Texas Region, Resolution 06-23-PRS03 Approving New Central Texas Regional Transportation Advisory Group (CTRTAG) Members, and Resolution 06-23-PRS04 Authorizing State Homeland Security Program (SHSP) FY 2024 Funds. Mayor Time Davis second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

#### **Guest Speakers & Presentations**

David Shaw, Texas Department of Emergency Services and LT. Richard Hoover, Texas Department of Public Safety were unable to present and will move their event to next month's meeting.

#### **Reports**

<u>Area Agency on Aging:</u> George Losoya, Director of AAA/ADVRC briefed the committee on the current state of the program, and upcoming events in the region. Mr. Losoya also briefly touched on two state legislative bills HB2036 and HB1430 and their potential to affect the program and our aging citizens in the region.

<u>Housing</u>: Carmen Lim, Director of HAP, advised the committee that the Housing Assistance Program (HAP) gave a brief summary of the previous month's activities for lease ups, inspections, and payments.

**Planning and Regional Services:** Uryan Nelson, Director of PRS, briefed the committee on the current performance of both the Regional Planning and Emergency Planning Services departments as well as important upcoming events in the region, such as the "Great American Eclipse" and the projected effects it will have on our region.

<u>Workforce Development Board</u>: Susan Kamas, Executive Director of WFBCT, advised the committee of the current standings and ratings of several WFSCT programs including the findings of the 2022 Soldier for Life Transition Report.

<u>Workforce Solutions Central Texas</u>: Louis LeDoux, Chief Operating Officer of WFSCT, Louis LeDoux, Chief Operating Officer of WFSCT, briefed the committee on the standing of Texas UI claims for the region as well as the unemployment rates for the region as of 05/19/2023. The total UI claims filed for the week ending 05/19/2023 reached 12,119 and the unemployment rate rests at 4.0.

**Executive Directors Report:** Mr. Jim Reed, AICP, Executive Director CTCOG, advised the committee that the next meeting will be held on July 27, 2023, at 12:00pm in the CTCOG Belton Offices.

### <u>Adjourn</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 01:09 PM by The Honorable Judge Randy Hoyer.

The Honorable Judge Randall J. Hoyer, President

Commissioner Russell Schneider, Secretary/Treasurer