

Executive Committee Meeting

2180 North Main Street Belton, Texas July 27, 2023

Hybrid Meeting: 12:00 PM

MEETING MINUTES:

The April 2023 Central Texas Council of Governments Annual Executive Committee Meeting was called to order by The Honorable Roger Miller, Coryell County Judge, 1st Vice President at 12:20pm.

Executive Committee Officers in Attendance:

1 st Vice President	Judge Roger Miller	Coryell County
2 nd Vice President	Councilmember Jose Segarra	City of Killeen
Parliamentarian	Mr. Ryan Haverlah	City of Copperas Cove

Executive Committee Members in Attendance:

Councilmember Ramon Alverez, City of Killeen	Mayor Gary Chumley, City of Gatesville	Commissioner Dickie Clary, Hamilton County
Mayor Tim Davis, City of Temple	Mr. Scott Albert, City of Gatesville	Councilmember Stephanie O'Banion, City of Belton
Commissioner Bobby Whitson, Bell County	Mayor Debbie Nash King, City of Killeen	Judge Jett Johnson, Mills County
Greg McGregor, San Saba County	Mayor Dan Yancey, City of Copperas Cove	Dr. Jim Yeonopolus, Central Texas College

CTCOG Staff Members and Guests in Attendance:

Jim Reed, CTCOG	Michael Irvine, CTCOG	George Losoya, CTCOG
Uryan Nelson, CTCOG	Ricky Tow, City of Cameron	Sunshine Martinez, CTCOG
Ricky Tow, City of Cameron	James McGill, CTCOG	Bill Schumann, Bell County
Jwana Sartor, CTCOG	Jeannie Horne, CTCOG	Diana Rodriguez, CTCOG
Raquel Canava, CTCOG	Louis LeDoux, WFSCT	Susan Kamas, WFBCT
Ashley Johnson, HCAA	Bryan Neaves, Bell County	Jordan Everhart, MRB Group
Kris Kebles, Texas GLO	Jason Deckman, City of Temple	Andrea Pacheco, Texas Broadband Office

The prayer was led by Jim Reed, AICP, CTCOG Executive Director CTCOG.

The pledges to the American and Texas flags were led by Dr. Jim Yeonopolus, Chancellor, Central Texas College.

Oath of Office

The oath of office was administered to Mr. Scott A. Albert, City Manager, City of Gatesville, allowing him to take the seat of the City of Gatesville Alternate Representative.

Public Comment

There was no Public Comment.

Consent Agenda

A motion was made by Mayor Debbie Nash-King to accept the Consent Agenda, which included the June 2023 Expenditure Report and the June 2023 Meeting Minutes. Mayor Gary Chumley, City of Gatesville, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

Action Items

<u>07-23-PRS01:</u> A motion was made by Mrs. Stephanie O'Banion, Councilmember, City of Belton to accept the proclamation 07-23-PRS01 Declaring August 2023 as National Water Quality month. Mr. Tim Davis, Mayor, City of Temple, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

<u>07-23-PRS02:</u> A motion was made by Mr. Ramon Alverez, Councilmember, City of Killeen, to accept resolution 07-23-PRS02 Authorizing State Homeland Security Program (SHSP) Central Texas Council of Governments (CTCOG) FY2024 Projects. Dr. Jim Yeonopolus, Chancelor, Central Texas College, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

Guest Speakers & Presentations

David Shaw, Texas Department of Emergency Services and LT. Richard Hoover, Texas Department of Public Safety were unable to present and will move their event to next month's meeting.

Andrea Pacheco, Texas Broadband Development Office, gave an in depth briefing on the needs of the region as far as broadband network coverage is concerned. Her presentation highlighted challenges such as speed differences, lack of coverage, and broadband map plan accuracy.

Reports

<u>Area Agency on Aging:</u> George Losoya, Director of AAA/ADVRC briefed the committee on the current state of the program, and upcoming events in the region. Mr. Losoya also briefly touched on the increase in the reimbursement rate for the Home Delivered Meal Costs, which is now \$6.46.

<u>Housing</u>: Carmen Lim, Director of HAP, advised the committee that the Housing Assistance Program (HAP) gave a brief summary of the previous month's activities for lease ups, inspections, and payments.

<u>Planning and Regional Services:</u> Uryan Nelson, Director of PRS, briefed the committee on the current performance of both the Regional Planning and Emergency Planning Services departments as well as sharing the most current updates on the Safe Streets for All (SS4A) project funding and progress.

<u>Workforce Development Board:</u> Susan Kamas, Executive Director of WFBCT, advised the committee of the current standings and ratings of several WFSCT programs including policy changes to the childcare program that will go into effect 10/01/2023.

<u>Workforce Solutions Central Texas:</u> Louis LeDoux, Chief Operating Officer of WFSCT, Louis LeDoux, Chief Operating Officer of WFSCT, briefed the committee on the standing of Texas UI claims for the region as well as the unemployment rates for the region as of 05/19/2023. The total UI claims filed for the week ending 07/01/2023 reached 16,873 and the unemployment rate rests at 4.6.

Executive Directors Report: Mr. Jim Reed, AICP, Executive Director CTCOG, briefed the committee on the need for a CTCOG representative for both state and national association events. He offered Mayor Debbie Nash-King as his choice to fill the vacant position, whom Dr. Yeonopolus, Chancellor, Central Texas College, made a motion to accept. Mrs. Stephanie O'Banion, Councilmember, City of Belton, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed. Mr. Reed also advised the committee that the next meeting will be held on July 27, 2023, at 12:00pm in the CTCOG Belton Offices.

<u>Adjourn</u>
The meeting was adjourned at 01:37 PM by The Honorable Roger Miller, County Judge, Coryell County.
The Honorable Judge Randall J. Hoyer, President
Commissioner Russell Schneider, Secretary/Treasurer