

Executive Committee Meeting

2180 North Main Street Belton, Texas February 29, 2024

Hybrid Meeting: 12:00 PM

MEETING MINUTES:

The February 2024 Central Texas Council of Governments Annual Executive Committee Meeting was called to order by The Honorable Roger Miller, Coryell County Judge, President at 12:20pm.

Executive Committee Officers in Attendance:

President	Judge Roger Miller	Coryell County
Parliamentarian	Judge Jody Fauley	San Saba County
Secretary/Treasurer	Ryan Haverlah	City of Copperas Cove
Immediate Past President	Judge Randy Hoyer	Lampasas County

Executive Committee Members in Attendance:

Riakos Adams, City of Killeen	Judge David Blackburn, Bell County	Commissioner Dickie Clary, Hamilton County
Mayor Rodney Craddick, Hamilton County	Mayor Bill Harris, Milam County	Judge Jett Johnson, Mills County
Commissioner Greg McGregor, San Saba County	Martha Tyroch, General Land Office	Commissioner Bobby Whitson, Bell County
Mayor Dan Yancey, City of Copperas Cove	Judge James Yates, Hamilton County	

CTCOG Staff Members and Guests in Attendance:

Jim Reed, CTCOG	Michael Irvine, CTCOG	George Losoya, CTCOG
Uryan Nelson, CTCOG	Carmen Lim, CTCOG	Jeannie Horne, CTCOG
Jessee Hennage CTCOG	James McGill, CTCOG	Helen Hill-Yancey
Susan Kamas, WFB	Louis LeDoux, WFSCT	Lacy Alexander, Hamilton
		County
Ryan Polster, City of Hamilton	Michael Sledge, Grant Works	Bill Schumann, Bell County
Henry Hubnik, Milam County	Dan Malsom, Kimley - Horn	

Oath of Office

The oath of office was administered to Ms. Martha Tyroch, as the General Land Office Primary Seat and

Mr. Riakos Adams, councilmember, as the City of Killeen alternate representative on the Executive

Committee Board.

Public Comment

There was no Public Comment.

Consent Agenda

A motion was made by The Honorable Randal Hoyer, Lampasas County Judge, to accept the Consent

Agenda, which included the January 2024 Expenditure Report and the January 2024 Meeting Minutes.

Dickie Clary, Hamilton County Commissioner, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

Action Items

A motion was made by Riakos Adams, City of Kileen Councilmember, to approve Resolution 02-24-PRS-

001 which sought to approve the FY 2023-2024 TXCDBG Community Development Fund Unified Scoring

Committee Regional Representative, and appointed The Honorable Roger Miller, Coryell County Judge.

The Honorable David Blackburn, Bell County Judge, second the motion. All in favor, none opposed.

A motion was made by The Honorable David Blackburn, Bell County Judge, to approve Resolution 02-24-

PRS-002 which sought to approve the Statewide Emergency Radio Infrastructure (SERI) Grant and project

allocations. After additional discussion an amended motion was put forth by the Honorable Jody Fauley,

San Saba County Judge, which would call for a re-written resolution that Jim Reed, AICP, Executive Director

CTCOG, would sign for submittal purposes and then be ratified at the next Executive Committee Meeting,

Riakos Adams, City of Kileen Councilmember, second the amended motion. All in favor, none opposed.

Guest Speakers & Presentations

Dan Malsom, Kinley - Horn, presented on behalf of Tom Fowler, also of Kimley - Horn. Mr. Malsom

advised the committee of the status and progress of the Safe Streets for All (SS4A) Grant and its assigned

projects within the region.

Reports

Area Agency on Aging: George Losoya, Director of AAA/ADVRC briefed the committee on the current

state of the program, and upcoming events in the region.

Housing: Carmen Lim, Director of HAP, briefly explained the progress and issues of the CTCOG Housing

Assistance Programs efforts in taking over the Killeen Housing Authority clientele, making landlord ledgers

complete, and processing both CTCOG Housing applicant files and KHA client files to ensure all are in

compliance with the program.

Planning and Regional Services: Uryan Nelson, Director of PRS, briefed the committee on the current

performance of both the Regional Planning and Emergency Planning Services departments as well as

sharing the most current updates on the Safe Streets for All (SS4A) project, which the guest speaker Mr.

Dan Malsom had spoken on in a more in-depth way in his presentation.

Workforce Development Board: Susan Kamas, Executive Director of WFBCT, advised the committee of

the CTWF ratings among the Texas WFB. CTWF is among the highest ranked in the state, ranking in first

place in the WDA Greeter Report of 2023 and third place for the Statewide Service to Job Seekers Award

and Statewide Service to Business Award.

Workforce Solutions Central Texas: Louis LeDoux, Chief Operating Officer of WFSCT, Louis LeDoux, Chief

Operating Officer of WFSCT, briefed the committee on the standing of Texas UI claims for the region as

well as the unemployment rates for the region as of 01/27/2024. The total UI claims filed for the week

ending 01/27/2024 reached 15,561 and the unemployment rate rests at 3.8%.

Executive Directors Report: Mr. Jim Reed, AICP, Executive Director CTCOG, advised the committee that

the next meeting will take place on Thursday March 28, 2024.

<u>Adjourn</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 01:43 PM by The Honorable Roger Miller, Coryell County Judge, President.

The Honorable Judge Roger Miller, President

The Honorable Ryan Haverlah, Secretary/Treasurer