

Executive Committee Meeting

2180 North Main Street Belton, Texas

August 22, 2024

Hybrid Meeting: 12:00 PM

MEETING MINUTES:

The July 2024 Central Texas Council of Governments Annual Executive Committee Meeting was called to order by The Honorable Roger Miller, Coryell County Judge, President at 12:10pm.

Executive Committee Officers in Attendance:

President	Judge Roger Miller	Corvell County
i i Caluciit	Judge Roger Willer	corych count

Secretary/Treasurer Ryan Haverlah City of Copperas Cove

Executive Committee Members in Attendance:

Judge David Blackburn, Bell County Martha Tyroch, Citizen Commissioner Russell Schneider, Representative **Bell County** Mayor Michael Blomquist, City of Harker Heights Mayor Nathan Fuchs, City of Judge Jody Fauley, San Saba Cameron County Councilmember Riakos Adams, City of Killeen Judge Randy Hoyer, Lampasas Councilmember Jose Segarra, City of Killeen County Commissioner Dickie Clary, Commissioner Henry Hubnik, Judge Bill Whitmire, Milam Hamilton County Milam County County Judge Jett Johnson, Mills County Fred Chavez, City of Copperas Commissioner Bobby Whitson, Ricky Tow, City of Cameron **Bell County** Cove Dr. Michele Carter, Chancellor,

CTCOG Staff Members and Guests in Attendance:

Central Texas College

Jim Reed, CTCOG	Sue Jordan, CTCOG	George Losoya, CTCOG
James McGill, CTCOG	Anita Janke, CTCOG	Callie Tullos, CTCOG
Jesse Henage, CTCOG	Shannon Stephens, Harker	Mayor Bery Henry, Village of
	Heights PD	Salado

Bill Schumann, Bell County
Sonja Clay, Harker Heights PD

Betiale Hawkins, Harker Heights Louis
PD

Louis LeDoux, WFSCT

Oath of Office

The oath of office was administered to Mayor Nathan Fuchs, City of Cameron, and Commissioner Henry Hubnik, Precinct 1, Milam County, as representatives on the Executive Committee Board.

Public Comment

There was no Public Comment.

Consent Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to accept the Consent Agenda, which included the August 2024 Expenditure Report and the August 2024 Meeting Minutes. All in favor, none opposed.

Action Items

A motion was made and seconded to approve Resolution 08-24-PRS001, which sought to authorize the State Homeland Security Program (SHSP) Central Texas Council of Governments Planning Grant FY 2025 Funds. All in favor, none opposed.

Reports

<u>Area Agency on Aging:</u> George Losoya, Director of AAA/ADVRC, briefed the committee on the current state of the program and the success of the Coryell County Senior Expo. He also updated the committee on the grant awarded to the AAA and CTCOG by the Texas Veterans Commission Fund for Veterans Assistance. Additionally, Mr. Losoya informed the committee of the upcoming Bell County Senior Expo and the Caregiver Conference that AAA will hold in November 2024.

<u>Housing</u>: Mr. Jim Reed presented the committee with the numbers of the clients served in the past month in the CTCOG region. Mr. Reed informed the committee that the arrears have been completed paid to KHA landlords, as well as the completion of the amnesty period provided to KHA clients who failed to transfer.

<u>Planning and Regional Services:</u> Mr. Reed updated the committee on the Hazard Mitigation Plan, which is nearing completion, and the State Emergency Radio Infrastructure Grant, which has been preliminarily approved. Mr. Reed also provided updates on the Peace Officer training classes held in the previous months, as well as the 911 call and text data for the month of July. Additionally, Mr. Reed provided an update on the

Safe Streets and Roads for All Grant.

Workforce Solutions Central Texas: Louis LeDoux, Chief Operating Officer of WFSCT, informed the committee about the recent award of the American Legion National Award for Employment Services. Mr. LeDoux provided an update on regional unemployment rates, reporting that for the week ending August 16, 2024, the total number of UI claims filed reached 13,453, with an unemployment rate of 4.1%. He also updated the committee on the six hiring events held in July. Additionally, Mr. LeDoux informed the committee that 10,384 customers were served in July 2024, receiving a total of 27,643 services.

Executive Directors Report: Mr. Jim Reed, AICP, Executive Director of CTCOG, delivered a presentation to the Executive Committee outlining staff's recommendation to transition from the State 911 system, governed by the Commission on State Emergency Communications (CSEC), to a 911 District. Mr. Reed explained how 911 systems are funded and assured the committee that the region's service fees are sufficient to support the transition. Mr. Reed emphasized the greater flexibility that a 911 District would offer and discussed the optimal timing for making the transition.

Mr. Reed further informed the committee that the CSEC Executive Director had extended an offer of State General Revenue funds to assist with the transition if CTCOG waits until after the next legislative session. Mr. Reed detailed the process of establishing a 911 District and explained that staff recommends the committee authorize the CTCOG Executive Director in September to begin preparing the necessary documentation for the creation of the Central Texas Emergency Communications District (CTECD), with a target cutover date prior to the end of calendar year 2025.

Mr. Reed then opened the floor for discussion and questions from the committee.

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 01:13 PM by The Honorable Roger Miller, Coryell County Judge, President.

The Honorable Judge Roger Miller, President	

Ryan Haverlah, Secretary/Treasurer					