

Members in Attendance:

Comm. Opey Watkins, Milam County Comm. Robert Vincent, Lampasas County Stan Weik, Sab Saba County Lisa Sebek, City of Temple Mark Hyde, City of Harker Heights

Others in Attendance:

Dawn Orange, City of Temple Jimmy Brown, Stericycle Amanda Mitchell, Stericycle Comm. Johnny Wagner, Hamilton County Bill Parry, City of Gatesville Zoe Rascoe, Citizen Rep. Paul Daugerau, Solid Waste Rep. Duane Herrera, Bell County Comm. Daren Moore, Coryell County

Jason Deckman, CTCOG Cheryl Maxwell, CTCOG

- I. Introduction: Vice Chair Zoe Rascoe called meeting to order at 9:40 AM.
- II. Opportunity for Public Comment: No Public Comments received.

The Committee moved to Item #IV.

IV. Staff Report: Announce date of public meeting for Regional Funding Plan, and review 2016-17 application.

Jason Deckman discussed the draft document announcement for the FY16-17 Funding Plan. The public meeting was set for September 17, 2015 5:00-6:00pm. Jason described why the draft has to be presented to the public before the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) approves the document. Jason explained the difference between the coordination funds and the implementation funds, describing where the funding comes from and how it is budgeted.

V. Discussion and Possible Action Item: Selection of Projects for FY 16/17:

Jason Deckman went through the applications for hosting the Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) events. There were 5 applications as follows: Cities of Copperas Cove, Gatesville, Hamilton, Killeen, and Temple. Jason explained how the scoring process works for each of the applications. Zoe explained the importance of the HHW events and how much it benefits the public. Score sheets were passed out.

Jason explained about Temple hosting an event even without SWAC funds. There was discussion about the City of Harker Heights adding to funding for an event in Killeen. Discussion moved to the Copperas Cove application; however, no



representative was present to answer questions. The Gatesville application was discussed next. Gatesville will contribute \$5,000 toward the HHW, and provide free tire dump. The discussion moved to the Hamilton application. Hamilton is not sure how much can be contributed at this time; possibly \$3,500. The Temple application was discussed next. Zoe explained that Temple is the only landfill with the exception of Fort Hood. Temple asked for \$5,000 each year to cover anything that would come in outside of Temple City limits.

The committee members took a 15 minute break to score the applications.

Zoe Roscoe called the meeting back to order at 10:45 a.m. and all the score sheets were gathered. Stan Weik recommended pulling out the Temple application for both Fiscal Years 16 and 17, granting them \$5,000 for each year. More discussion followed. Harker Heights is anticipated to contribute \$5,000 to the Killeen event. Robert Vincent made a motion to grant \$5,000 to Temple, \$20,000 to Gatesville, \$25,000 to Hamilton, and \$13,000 to Killeen, seconded by Paul Daugerau. Motion was unanimously approved.

Anticipated Schedule of HHW events: Temple—October 3, 2015; Gatesville—April 9, 2016; Hamilton—May 14, 2016; Killeen—September 11, 2016.

VI. Discussion and Possible Action Item: Selection of contractor for household hazardous waste events: Two applications were received for HHW events--Stericycle and Veolia. Jason Deckman explained the staff scoring on both companies and that staff recommends Stericycle.

Bill Parry made a motion to keep Stericycle as the contractor for the HHW events for FY 16, seconded by Lisa Sebek. Motion passed unanimously.

VII. Discussion and possible action item: Open period to nominate and elect officers, voting members and/or ex-officio members.
 Zoe Roscoe clarified the positions being elected.
 Lisa Sebek made a motion to retain Zoe Roscoe as the Citizens representative of SWAC and Paul Daugerau as the Industry Representative of SWAC, seconded by Duane Herrera. Motion was unanimously approved.

Zoe opened the floor to elect officers-- Chair, Vice Chair, and Second Vice Chair. Johnny Wagner made a motion for Zoe Roscoe as chair, Peter DiLillo as Vice Chair and Duane Herrera as Second Vice Chair, seconded by Bill Parry. Motion passed unanimously.



The Committee moved back to Item #III.

- III. Review Minutes from July 21st 2015 meeting.
 Mark Hyde made a motion to approve the minutes as written, seconded by Duane Herrera. Motion passed unanimously.
- VIII. Adjournment.

Lisa Sebek made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Bill Parry. Motion passed unanimously. Meeting was adjourned at 11:20 AM.